Inspiring young women in stem


2nd Biennial Conference

“It was very inspiring to hear from such strong women who have built their careers from the ground up, despite having faced various degrees of discrimination along the way”
— Trisanna Sprung-Much, Graduate Student in Neuroscience at McGill University

keynote speakers

  • Kate Young, London West MP and Parliamentary Secretary for Science

  • Dr. Emily Lalone, Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Materials Engineering at Western University

  • Claudette Critchley, Chief Operating Officer at Big Blue Bubble (Mobile Game Development Company)

  • Dr. Lisa Saksida, Professor of Physiology and Pharmacology at Western University

  • Dr. Savita Dhanvantary, Assistant Professor of Medical Biophysics at Western University

graduate program expo

Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Bone and Joint Institute, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Medical Biophysics, Neuroscience, Physics and Astronomy, Physiology and Pharmacology

Panel discussion

Q&A discussion on issues related to the barriers faced by women in STEM. Panelists: Dr. Emily Lalone, Dr. Lisa Saksida, Dr. Savita Dhanvantari, and Dr. Mark Daley. Moderated by Nicolette Noonan.

industry expo

TechAlliance, Modus Medical Devices, Robarts Clinical Trials, Magnet Forensics, Renix, Women in Communications and Technology, Surface Science Western, CARPROOF, R-Ladies, ZTR Control Systems, Info-Tech, Cambridge Brain Sciences, Mitacs, Big Blue Bubble, London Economic Development Corporation

2018 sponsors

BrainsCAN at Western University, The Brain and Mind Institute at Western University, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry at Western University, and the Canada First Research Excellence Fund

undergraduate poster award winners

1st place: Cindy Kao
2nd place: Parnian Etedali-Zadeth
3rd place: Violet Liu

travel award winners

Vishali Balasubramaniam (Guelph), Sanaz Karami (Ottawa), Benjamin Tsang (UofT), Rida Ansari (UofT), Amna Azhar (UofT), Caitlin Fowler (McGill), Melissa McSweeney (McGill), Morteza Pishnamazi Rashtabadi (McGill), Gina Kemp (McGill)

2018 conference summary report

  • 250 conference attendees

  • $1800 in poster and travel awards

  • 15 industry partners and 10 graduate programs

2018 Conference Committee

Ramina Adam, Nicolette Noonan, Avital Sternin

Organizing Team
Eva Berlot, Anna Blumenthal, Ysi Domingo, Megan Fennema, Kathryn Manning, Natalie Ossowski, Ana-Bianca Popa, Olivia Stanley, Heather Young

“This conference strengthened my belief that surrounding oneself with mentors from diverse backgrounds and being a mindful mentor myself, will lead science to its fullest potential”
— Alice Morgunova, Graduate Student in Neuroscience at McGill University


inspiring young women in stem


Inaugural Conference

Keynote speakers

  • Dr. Jessica Grahn, Associate Professor in the Department of Psychology at Western University

  • Elena Uchiteleva, PhD Candidate in Electrical Engineering at Western University

  • Dr. Sarah Gallagher, Associate Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Western University

industry expo

IBM Canada, Ladies Learning Code, Trudell Medical, Info-Tech Research Group, TechAlliance

Graduate program expo

Anatomy and Cell Biology, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, Medical Biophysics, Pathology and Laboratory Science, Statistical and Actuarial Science


  • “Mentorship” with Dr. Pauline Barmy (Physics and Astronomy), Dr. Kim Baines (Chemistry), and Dr. Irena Creed (Biology)

  • “Professional Development” with Dr. Savita Dhanvantari (Medical Biophysics)

  • “Confidence Building and Stereotyped Language” with Dr. Christine Tenk (Psychology)

  • “Myths and Facts about Women in STEM” with Dr. Anabel Quan-Haase (Sociology)

  • “Programming for Beginners” with Prof Laura Reid (Computer Science)

2016 sponsors

The Brain and Mind Institute at Western University, Social Science Student’s Council, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, and the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR)

undergraduate poster award winners

1st place: Angela Kim
2nd place: Nadia Sharma
3rd place: Kimberley Lam-Tin-Cheung

2016 Conference Committee

Ramina Adam, Emily Nichols, Niki Hosseini-Kamkar

Organizing Team
Theda Backen, Anna Blumenthal, Alenka Bullen, Ysi Domingo, Nellie Kamkar, Maedbh King, Kathryn Manning, Nicolette Noonan, Olivia Stanley, Avital Sternin, Veronica Whitford